Academic Affairs
Standing Committees

Academic Assembly

  • Membership

    Rob Rutherford (President)
    Karen Cowgill (VP - Program Review Committee)
    Sean McDowell (VP - Faculty Handbook Revision Committee)

    Jeffrey Anderson
    David Arnesen
    Carol Wolfe Clay
    Tito Cruz
    Lynn Deeken
    Terry Foster
    Christian Halliburton
    Kristi Lee
    Michael Matriotti
    David Neel
    Erik Olsen
    Katherine Raichle
    Roshanak Roshandel
    Heath Spencer
    John Strait
    Toni Vezeau

    Isiaah Crawford (Ex-Officio)
    Bill Ehmann (Ex-Officio)
    Chuck Lawrence (Ex-Officio)
    James (Brady) Carlson (SGSU Rep)
    Cobretti Williams (GSC Rep)


    The Academic Assembly is the elected body through which the faculty participates in decisions involving academic, university-wide matters, as well as areas that influence student learning. Such matters include among other things: academic quality, terms of faculty service, curricula that require coordination across programs, strategic planning, budgets, and physical facilities.

    Faculty participation

    The Assembly needs and welcomes the help of the faculty in identifying issues that should be addressed by the Assembly. Faculty members should feel free to discuss issues with individual members. Assembly meetings are open to all faculty members. Any faculty member may address the Assembly upon the invitation of the president of the Assembly or upon approval by the president of a request made a week in advance of a meeting.


    Academic Assembly Bylaws document (pdf)