Student Activities
Student Clubs

Special Interest and Miscellaneous

  • Albers Club Council

    Albers Club Council is focused on collaboration and programming with all Albers clubs. The purpose of this organization is to effectively communicate with all Albers Club leaders to plan events collaboratively. This club consists of all the Albers club leaders.

    Contact

    Jeff Lee
    leej32@seattleu.edu

    Advisor

    John McLean
    mcleanj@seattleu.edu

    Albers Graduate Student Council

    AGSA is a student-run organization committed to enriching the educational experience of Graduate Business Students at Seattle University.  AGSA is designed to meet the needs of the graduate business student through social events and guest speakers. The goal of AGSA is to foster a strong sense of community among graduate business students by encouraging networking between students, faculty, alumni and members of the business community.

    Contact

    Bonnie Buchanan
    buchanab@seattleu.edu

    Advisor

    Loc Nguyen
    nguye231@seattleu.edu

    ArtSideOut

    The purpose of this organization is to provide students of Seattle University with an artistic community both studio-based, as well as art history-based. ArtSideOut will offer opportunities for members to participate in the arts community both on campus and off through various means including: free figure modeling sessions, public art walks throughout the city, The Honest Crit (student art critiques involving members of the Seattle arts community), as well as other arts-based events throughout the year. The club is meant to be an organic organization where communication and participation as well as delegation are highly encouraged. All ArtSideOut events will be free for attendees as to encourage as much participation, regardless of economic standpoint, as possible.

    Contact

    Kelsey Cook
    cookk@gmail.com

    Advisor

    Francisco Guerrero
    guerrero@seattleu.edu

    Cadet Council

    The Cadet Council is the voice of the cadets in the battalion. The council also coordinates and manages community service events, battalion social events, and fund-raising activities.

    Contact

    Justin Cooper
    cooperj@seattleu.edu

    Advisor

    Peter Yedinak
    yedinakp@seattlu.edu

    Colleges Against Cancer

    Website

    Colleges Against Cancer (CAC) is a nationwide collaboration of college students, faculty, and staff dedicated to eliminating cancer by working to implement the programs and mission of the American Cancer Society. 

    Contact

    Aleena Arakaki
    arakakia@seattleu.edu

    Advisor

    Galen Trail
    Center of Study of Sports & Exercise
    trailg@seattleu.edu
    (206) 398-4650

    Culinary Society of Seattle University

    The purpose of our club is to provide hands-on education on how to effectively shop for groceries and cook healthy foods from a variety of cultures. We meet bi-monthly where we break up into teams of two members each- a more and less experienced member. Each member cooks a recipe that was picked out previously and our club comes together to eat and talk about the family or ethnic culture about each dish. We also throw on events for the student body and are looking into volunteer opportunities.

    Contact

    Alex Koruga
    korugaa@seattleu.edu

    Advisor

    Hilary Hawley
    hawleyh@seattleu.edu

    Dance Alliance

    Website

    DA's undertaking is to provide an atmosphere where Seattle University students and affiliates can meet and share their mutual interest in dance, as well as explore different dance styles. Dance Alliance is an inclusive organization for students of all skill levels.

    Contact

    Wade Gushikuma
    gushiku1@seattleu.edu

    Advisor

    Dr. Jessica Ludescher
    ludeschj@seattleu.edu

    Drop the Bass

    Drop the Bass is a new all-female a cappella group at Seattle University! This group's purpose is to pay homage to classic all-girl groups and the barbershop genre by practicing and performing classic jazz and soul a cappella pieces.

    Contact

    Lucy Spicer
    spicerl@seattleu.edu

    Advisor

    Joy Sherman
    jsherman@seattleu.edu

    Engineers for a Sustainable World

    The mission of Engineers for a Sustainable World is to partner with developing communities worldwide in order to improve their quality of life. This partnership involves the implementation of sustainable engineering projects, while involving and training internationally responsible engineers and engineering students.

    Contact

    Jessy Marie Hardy
    hardyj@seattleu.edu

    Fashion Club of Seattle University

    Website

    The Fashion Club of Seattle University works to create fashion awareness on campus and strives to be involved in the local fashion of scene of Seattle. Fashion Club works to promote the professional development of students interested in the fashion industry by hosting bi-monthly meetings, guest speakers from the Seattle community, and the production of our annual "On My Block" Fashion Show.

    Contact

    Chelsea Johnston
    johnst22@seattleu.edu

    Advisor

    Harmony Arnold
    College of Arts and Sciences
    arnoldh@seattleu.edu

    Harry Potter Alliance

    The Harry Potter Alliance is a group of people who are inspired by the Harry Potter series, as well as other literature, to fight for equality, human rights, and literacy.

    Contact

    Alex Pierce
    piercej5@seattleu.edu

    Advisor

    Mary-Antoinette Smith
    masmith@seattleu.edu

    Literary Society

    Literary Society is a community for avid readers, aspiring writers, and those who want a place to talk about literature on campus. Along with meetings every other week, we hope to host a variety of different events throughout the school year, as well as provide opportunities for students hoping to give back to the community through the literary arts or pursue a career in the field.We value open discussion about literature and writing, a welcoming environment for students of any major, providing a recreational space to pursue literary appreciation, and engagement in the local literary community outside of Seattle University.

     

    Contact

    Katie Gilbert
    gilbertk@seattleu.edu

    Advisors

    Dr. Aguirre
    aguirrer@seattleu.edu

    Dr. Gribben
    gribbenb@seattleu.edu 

    Seattle University Design Collective

    The purpose of this organization is to build and expand the student design community at Seattle University through promoting and attending design-related events held in the greater Seattle community, as well as hosting various events on campus. We also plan to administrate and organize the Seattle University student design community into a fluid work group that in turn will provide visual continuity for Seattle University’s design and aesthetics. Throughout the school year, our group will reach out to other clubs and organizations on campus and collaborate to develop and produce design work to fulfill the creative needs for the respective groups, while also building professional development skills for student designers.

    Contact

    Kelli-Anne Ho
    hok@seattleu.edu

    Advisor

    Alexander Mouton
    moutona@seattleu.edu

    Seattle University International Cooking Club

    We strive to foster a place of fellowship for international and domestic students to learn from and teach one another how to cook traditional foods from around the world. Through this we not only seek to develop a deeper appreciation for diverse culinary tastes, but also to develop relationships that merge the domestic and international communities at Seattle University.

    Contact

    Kirsti Ruud
    ruudk@seattleu.edu

    Advisor

    Gina Lopardo
    glopardo@seattleu.edu

    Seattle University Veterans Committee

    To foster a community that supports both present and former members of the United States military services during their time at Seattle University. 

    Contact

    Jaime Yslas
    yslasj@seattleu.edu

    Advisor

    Audrey Hudgins
    Academic Advisor & Instructor College of Arts & Sciences
    hudginsa@seattleu.edu

    Society of Environmental Engineers and Scientists (SEES)

    A club that unites environmental engineers and scientists on campus by creating a sense of community, networking with the broader scientific and engineering community, and volunteering time to preserve and protect the environment. This year our large project is the EPA RainWorks Challenge. We are meeting with the architects for the potential new science building on campus and designing a project that would reduce SU's stormwater footprint. We also plan to have speakers, restoration field trips, and socializing events.

    Contact

    Caitlyn Echterling
    echterli@seattleu.edu

    Advisor

    Dr. Mike Marsolek
    MarsoleM@seattleu.edu

    Student Alumni Ambassadors

    Seattle University’s Student Alumni Ambassadors are dedicated to serve as university representatives to bridge the gap between undergraduate students and alumni by fostering opportunities for personal and professional development within the living Redhawk Network.

    Contact

    Marcella Marie Perez
    perezm1@seattleu.edu

    Advisor

    Kaily Serralta
    serralta@seattleu.edu

    SU Ascend

    The Ascend Seattle Chapter is looking to build a clear path of communication between professional members of the Ascend organization and students looking for mentorship, leadership, and networking opportunities. Particularly as an Asian-American or Pacific Islander, it can sometimes be difficult to find a role model with a shared background to turn to when seeking guidance as college years go by, graduations approach, and careers begin. The Ascend Seattle Chapter looks to help in creating a framework that will allow for student members of the organization to openly turn to professional members for mentorship and guidance. We are looking for the best and the brightest to join the Ascend organization as student members, and make the most of what Ascend has to offer, including: fun and impactful networking events, mentoring relationships with experienced professionals looking to help, leadership opportunities to help you grow and prepare for your future

    Contact

    Eva Mei
    meie@seattleu.edu

    Advisor

    Yantao Wang
    wangya@seattleu.edu

    D1 Improv

    An improvisation club whose goals are to provide education and experience in improvisational technique so that persons involved may pursue improv outside of a school setting.

    Contact

    Bob Binford
    binfordr@seattleu.edu

    Advisor

    Rosa Joshi
    joshir@seattleu.edu

    Swing Dance Club

    This club is helping to preserve the beautiful and fun dance of swing. We learn to appreciate big band jazz and 20's-30's styles and steps. This club is a great opportunity for students to meet one another, get off campus, and have immense amounts of fun.

    Contact

    Colleen Fontana
    fontanac@seattleu.edu

    Advisor

    Simone Senn
    senns@seattleu.edu

    Unauthorized to Harmonize

    Unauthorized to Harmonize (UTH) is an a cappella group that performs for the Seattle University community.

    Contact

    Olivia Ghersen
    gherseno@seattleu.edu

    Advisor

    Joy Sherman
    jsherman@seattleu.edu

    Video Gamer's Alliance

    Create a space/social scene for those interested in video games, gaming in general, and other nerdiness.

    Contact

    Jackson Van Dyck
    vandyckj@seattleu.edu

    Advisor

    Dan Washburn
    Office of Information Technology - Classroom Support
    washburn@seattleu.edu

    W.O.R.D (Writing On Rainy Days)

    Seattle University's Creative Writing Club, W.O.R.D, strives to create and establish a community of writers on the SU campus, to encourage creativity through poetry, prose and other writing forms, and to support literacy and a wider appreciation of literature throughout campus and the surrounding Seattle community.

    Contact

    Chelsea Booker
    bookerc@seattleu.edu

    Advisor

    Sharon Cumberland
    SLC@seattleu.edu

    TEST CLUB